The Eagle Butte to Isabel Wagon Train

Last Updated by Brian Gevik on
Crossing the Moreau River

Dakota Life went along with the Eagle Butte to Isabel wagon train and trail ride this past summer, July 29 - 31. We'll have a feature story about it on the October 1 edition of "Dakota Life."

The trail covered about 30 thirty miles of range and pastureland on and adjacent to the Cheyenne River Indian Reservation. We talked to Orville LaPlante, the event organizer, about why he wanted to bring some two dozen wagons and twice as many riders to his part of the world.

The gallery below offers a few pictures from the ride. They were shot by Gordie Collins from Faith, South Dakota.

If you'd like to see more of Gordie's photos and order prints, you reach him by mail at P.O. Box 86, Faith, SD, 57626.

The October premiere of "Dakota Life" airs at 8:00pm CT / 7:00pm MT on SDPB 1. It will be re-broadcast on SDPB 1 on Sunday, Oct. 4 at 1:00pm CT / Noon MT.