SDPB Receives A. H. Pankow Award

Last Updated by Katy Beem on
James D. Hagen, Larry Rohrer, Julie Overgaard & Lt. Gov. Matt Michels
SD Dept. of Tourism

South Dakota Public Broadcasting is proud to announce SDPB has received the A.H. Pankow Award. The award honors a media outlet or individual member of the media for unparalleled coverage and promotion of the state’s visitor industry.

Lt. Gov. Matt Michels and the South Dakota Department of Tourism presented awards to top tourism industry leaders January 19  at the 2017 Governor’s Conference on Tourism in Pierre.

According to a statement from the South Dakota Department of Toursim, SDPB "has continuously produced programming that has focused on the unique beauty and culture of South Dakota including shows like Soaring South Dakotaand Savor Dakota, a new program that looks at South Dakota’s food, wine and brew offerings."

“We are thankful for South Dakota Public Broadcasting’s passion and continuous promotion of our state’s history, arts, destinations and way of life,” stated the Lt. Governor.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.

sdpb magazine cover

SDPB Magazine is a benefit of membership in Friends of SDPB. Your donation helps pay for programs you see and hear. Become a member today.