Banner_Web_Debate_920x118 copy.png

Results - 2017 Class A Debate & Individual Events
(Complete Results - PDF)

Sweepstakes Champion: Spearfish High School
2017 A Champion Spearfish

Runner-up: Lennox High School
2017 A Runner Up Lennox

Extemp Speaking - International: Maxwell J Bultena - Lennox
2017 A Inter Ex - Maxwell J Bultena Lennox

Extemp Speaking - US: Nathan T Waltjer - Lennox
 2017 A US Extemp - Nathan T Waltjer Lennox

Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Connor Lightfield - Milbank
2017 A Lincoln Douglas - Connor Lightfield Milbank

Original Oratory: Griffin Smith - Spearfish
2017 A Original Oratory - Griffin Smith Spearfish

Policy Debate: Shikhar Kumar and Gabe Josko - Sioux Falls Roosevelt
2017 Policy - Shikhar Kumar_Gabe Josko SF Roosevelt

Public Forum: Kassidy Van Surksum and Logan Dean Aukes - Sioux Falls Christian
 2017 A Public Forum - Kassidy Van Surksum_Logan Dean Aukes SFC

A-Public Forum: Spearfish vs Sioux Falls Christian

2017 State Debate and Individual Events Tournament 


The 2017 State Debate & Individual Events Tournament was held at Mitchell High School on Friday & Saturday March 3-4.  Schools, based on their enrollment, were divided into Class "AA" and Class "A" for state tournament competition.

The State Debate & Individual Events Tournament found students competing for state championships in some of South Dakota’s oldest statewide high school competitions.  The 2017 State Tournament crowned the 103rd Annual State Champions in Policy Debate.  Extemporaneous Speaking events have been held for over 90 years.  Original Oratory marked its 83rd year of State Championship competition.  Although having a long history in the realm of political debate, Lincoln-Douglas Debate is one of the more recent high school state championship speech activity events crowning its 37th group of state champions.  The newest speech activity, Public Forum Debate, marked its 15th year as a State Tournament event.

From: Brooks Bowman, Assistant Executive Director SOUTH DAKOTA HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION