Banner_Web_Debate_920x118 copy.png

Results - 2017 Class AA Debate & Individual Events 
(Complete Results - PDF)

Sweepstakes Champion: Aberdeen
2017 AA Champion Aberdeen

Runner-up: Watertown
  2017 AA Runner Up Watertown

Extemp Speaking - International: Matt Cooke - Aberdeen
2017 AA Inter Ex - Matt Cooke Aberdeen

Extemp Speaking - US: Alexander King - O'Gorman
 2017 AA US Extemp - Alexander King O'Gorman

Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Isabella Osorio - Sioux Falls Washington
2017 AA Lincoln Douglas Isabella Osorio Washington

Original Oratory: Hamza Jamal - Aberdeen
2017 AA Original Oratory - Hamza Jamal Aberdeen

Policy Debate: Shikhar Kumar and Gabe Josko - Sioux Falls Roosevelt
2017 Policy - Shikhar Kumar and Gabe Josko SF Roosevelt

Public Forum: Michael Linngren and Brandon Maag - Watertown
2017 AA Public Forum - Michael Linngren_Brandon Maag Watertown

AA-Public Forum: O'Gorman vs Watertown

2017 State Debate and Individual Events Tournament 


The 2017 State Debate & Individual Events Tournament was held at Mitchell High School on Friday & Saturday March 3-4.  Schools, based on their enrollment, were divided into Class "AA" and Class "A" for state tournament competition.

The State Debate & Individual Events Tournament found students competing for state championships in some of South Dakota’s oldest statewide high school competitions.  The 2017 State Tournament crowned the 103rd Annual State Champions in Policy Debate.  Extemporaneous Speaking events have been held for over 90 years.  Original Oratory marked its 83rd year of State Championship competition.  Although having a long history in the realm of political debate, Lincoln-Douglas Debate is one of the more recent high school state championship speech activity events crowning its 37th group of state champions.  The newest speech activity, Public Forum Debate, marked its 15th year as a State Tournament event.

From: Brooks Bowman, Assistant Executive Director SOUTH DAKOTA HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION