Banner_Web_2018VisArt_920x118_0817 copy.png


Director's Choice Award

The Director's Choice award is voted on by the SDHSAA Board of Directors and is awarded to one entry amongst all three classes.

Best In Show Award

The Best in Show award is awarded to one entry in each class, regardless of category, with the highest ranking from the State Gallery judges.

Overall Team Champion Award

The Overall Team Champion Award is awarded to one school in each class that accumulates the most sweepstakes points across all State Gallery categories.

  • The Class B RUNNER-UP is Bridgewater-Emery High School and their coach, Cherie Ramsdell.

  • This year's Class B CHAMPION is Northwestern High School and their coach, Jennifer Schell.

  • The Class A RUNNER-UP is Vermillion High School and their coach, Justin Brunick.

  • This year's Class A CHAMPION is Parker High School and their coach, Dave Fuller.

  • The Class AA RUNNER-UP is Brookings High School and their coach, John Livingston.

  • This year's Class AA CHAMPION is SF Roosevelt High School and their coach, Lisa Dresch.

State Visual Arts

2019 South Dakota High School Winter Academic Achievement Teams

Posted by Nate Wek on

The South Dakota High School Activities Association has announced their 2018-19 winter academic achievement teams. This list is comprised of varsity fine arts and athletic teams who received a combined GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Read More

2019 High School Visual Arts Competition, Results

Last Updated by Nate Wek on

The 2019 South Dakota high school Visual Arts competition took place in Rapid City over the weekend at the convention center of the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. Check out the full results from the event.

Read More

Writers of the Iron Road

Last Updated by Michael Zimny on

Two South Dakota perspectives on freight train graffiti.

Read More