SDPB News Wins Four Edward R. Murrow Awards
Email share
SDSO cellist Jia Cao assists students.
Kealey Bultena/SDPB

SDPB is pleased to announce SDPB Radio News has won four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

The following SDPB reporters and news stories are recipients of the awards:

Feature Reporting - "Black Hills Pioneer Turns 140" - by Jim Kent (reporter/producer)

The Black Hills Pioneer celebrated its 140th anniversary this year. Founded in 1876, the northern Black Hills publication is the oldest newspaper and business in Western South Dakota. SDPB visited with publisher Letitia Lister at the Pioneer’s Spearfish offices to discuss the paper’s early days and history as well as what role it plays in the community today.

Image - 020416_bhp_140_deadwood_pioneer_pressmen.jpg

Sports Reporting - "Polo Introduced to East River South Dakota"by Gary Ellenbolt (reporter/producer)

A small group of people in Sioux Falls is trying to make polo a popular activity.

Image - polo photo heatherjpg.jpg

Excellence in Sound - "Symphony Strings Mentor Young Musicians" by Kealey Bultena (reporter) & Paul Ebsen (producer)

Excellence in Video -  "Symphony Strings Mentor Young Musicians" by Kealey Bultena (reporter) & Paul Ebsen (producer)

Professional players are paired with aspiring high school musicians in Sioux Falls.

Image - 120216SDSymphonyOrchestraDoosookKim.jpg

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit  of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.