SDPB Sweeps 2019 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards
Email share

South Dakota Public Broadcasting is pleased to announce SDPB has won five regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including a three-peat for Excellence in Video and taking the Overall Excellence category for the fifth year in a row.

SDPB has won in the following categories:

Overall Excellence: South Dakota Public Broadcasting

Excellence in Innovation: "Images of the Past: Aunt Sally"

Producers: Brian Gevik, Josh Haiar, Chris Laughery, Lori Walsh & Steve Zwemke Sarah “Aunt Sally” Campbell was a teenage slave in Dakota Territory who found her freedom to become one of the region's early entrepreneurs.

Feature Reporting: “Youth Partners in Growing Opportunities on Rosebud Reservation”

Reporter/Producer: Jackie Hendry

REDCO, the Rosebud Economic Development Corporation, is the largest employer of interns on the Rosebud Reservation.

Hard News: “Dakota Students Participate in National Walkout”

Reporter/Producer: Chynna Lockett

Rapid City Central High School students were one of many schools across the country participating in a walk out to protest gun violence.

Excellence in Video: “Carrying on the Vision”

Videographer: Paul Ebsen, Producer: Katy Beem

Black Elk Peak is a powerful place of prayer for many, especially so for Myron Pourier, great-great grandson of Nicholas Black Elk, the Oglala Lakota holy man for whom the peak is named and whose story and vision make up the book Black Elk Speaks.

See all SDPB’s 2019 regional Murrow winners:

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.