Skip to main content
SDPB Wins 11 Edward R. Murrow Awards
Email share

SDPB is pleased to announce SDPB News has won 11 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including four for reporter Victoria Wicks and two for Morning Edition host/producer Gary Ellenbolt.

SDPB won in the following categories:

Hard News - "Women’s March" - by Victoria Wicks (reporter/producer).

Women and supporters march in Rapid City to assert Women’s rights as human rights.

Sound – “American Idol” – by Victoria Wicks (reporter/producer).

Competitors sign up to audition for a Golden Ticket at American Idol tryouts in Rapid City.

Feature -- "Letter Writing" -- by Victoria Wicks (reporter/producer).

Letter writing conveys care and love while resurrecting a nearly lost art.

Writing – “Oxford Comma” – by Victoria Wicks (reporter/producer).

A pesky comma and a shaky doctrine are at issue when the Sioux Falls Argus Leader sues the City of Sioux Falls for violating South Dakota’s Open Records Act.

Newscast"April 13, 2017"by Gary Ellenbolt

Newscast covering issues over recreational use of private land and non-meandering waters.

Sports -- "A Chip and a Chair" by Gary Ellenbolt (reporter/producer).

A look at the rebirth of varsity football in a small Centerville, SD.

News Series & Social Media (2) – "The Shift” – All SDPB Staff

In-depth, cross-platform coverage of how South Dakota’s changing populations affect schools, business and hometown life.

Video – "Mitakuye Oyasin/We Are All Related” – Paul Ebsen, Producer

South Dakota state senators Kevin Killer (Pine Ridge) and Troy Heinert (Mission) and Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels discuss the significance of using the Lakota language on the senate floor.

Website –

Overall Excellence – South Dakota Public Broadcasting

About the Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.