2017-18 SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Recipients
Email share

Fourteen distinguished individuals from across the state of South Dakota have been selected to receive the South Dakota High School Activities Association (SDHSAA) Distinguished Service Award for the 2017-18 school year.  Following a nomination process, the recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are selected by the SDHSAA Board of Directors.

The SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award program was established by the SDHSAA in 1976. The Distinguished Service Award is the highest recognition bestowed by the SDHSAA. It is designed to honor individuals who have made significant long-term contributions to the high school athletic and fine arts activities in our state.  

Distinguished Service Award recipients are individuals whose contributions have had an impact on high school activity programs. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to honor administrators (principals, superintendents and athletic/activity directors); Board of Education members; athletic and fine arts activities coaches & directors; contest officials for fine arts and athletic activities; and contributors to statewide high school activities. The recipients of this award have given outstanding service to the youth of the state through the high school athletic and fine arts activities programs. 

Category: Administrators 

Dr. Jason Uttermark – Aberdeen Central

Dani Walking Eagle—St. Francis

Galen Drapeau—Marty

Category: Coaches & Directors—FINE ARTS 

Helen Mogen—Chester

Sharon Prendergast—Sisseton

Roger McCafferty—Aberdeen Central

Category: Coaches & Directors—ATHLETICS 

Bruce Kleinsasser—Aberdeen Central—cheer

Marc Murren—SF Washington—wrestling

Category: Contest Official: 

Kevin Brick—Brandon Valley

Kim Bartling—Sioux Falls

Jim Aberle—Lead

Terry Duffy—Brookings

Gene Struck—Montrose

Dave Dolan—Rapid City