Skip to main content
High School Activities

2020 Class 9A Football Championship


Canistota/Freeman vs Warner in the Class 9A Football Championship.

Three In A Row, Canistota/Freeman Champs Again
Email share
Canistota/Freeman Wins Third Straight
Bailey Zubke - SDPB

Canistota/Freeman defeated Warner in a low scoring battle for the 9A title on Thursday evening, 12-0, to win their third straight 9A title.

Warner received to start the game. On the opening kickoff, Ty Cramer returned it to midfield – but from there the Monarchs would go three-and-out.

Canistota/Freeman had their own struggles on their opening drive. Faced with a fourth and short in Warner territory, quarterback Tyce Ortman fumbled the football on a sneak attempt, which was recovered by the Monarchs. The Pride would get the ball back a few plays later after Easton Steinbach fumbled the ball for Warner.

Despite the turnover, Canistota/Freeman was backed up by penalties throughout their next drive and was forced to punt it away.

End of the 1st Quarter: Canistota/Freeman 0 Warner 0

Warner started the second quarter with the ball, but 90-seconds into the period Jackson McNeil lost the football, which was recovered by Canistota/Freeman.

The Pride broke the scoreless contest when quarterback Tyce Ortman ran in a seven-yard quarterback keeper. After a failed two-point attempt, Canistota/Freeman held a 6-0 lead with 8:37 to play until halftime.

Canistota/Freeman had a chance to extend their lead late in the half, but Warner’s defense held and forced a turnover on downs inside their own 10-yard line.

With 1:10 to play until the break, Blake Anderson intercepted a Hunter Cramer pass to give The Pride one last shot at points before halftime. Monarch’s linebacker Peyton Jung won a jump ball battle in the closing seconds, picking off Ortman at the one-yard line.

Halftime: Canistota/Freeman 6 Warner 0

Both teams traded offensive possessions to start the second half. With 5:08 to play in the third quarter, Ortman broke free for his second rushing score of the game, this one from 64-yards out. The two-point try was once again no good, but this gave The Pride a 12-0 lead.

End of the 3rd Quarter: Canistota/Freeman 12 Warner 0

Warner had an impressive 83-yard drive that looked to be heading towards points, but The Pride’s defense came up with a huge goal line stand to protect the shutout. Both teams would then trade offensive possessions. Canistota/Freeman got the ball back one last time midway through the fourth quarter, and they would drain the clock out from there.

Final: Canistota/Freeman 12 Warner 0

This is the third straight 9A state championship for Canistota/Freeman. Pride quarterback Tyce Ortman ran for 253-yards in the contest. The 9A title game record for individual rushing performance is 281-yards rushing by Pierce Smith of Hanson in 2010.

Outstanding Lineman: Cole Papendick

Outstanding Back: Tyce Ortman

Joe Robbie MVP: Tyce Ortman

Full Game Stats - Click Here

Follow @Nate_WekSDPB on twitter