Skip to main content
A Century of South Dakota State Parks
Email share

Custer State Park in the southern Black Hills was South Dakota's first. The park opened in 1919 after years of planning and effort. South Dakota now has 13 State Parks, each with it's own unique history.

This SDPB TV documentary looks at the establishment and growth of South Dakota's State Park system and the ongoing process of preserving and maintaining these important public lands.