Skip to main content
Gov. Daugaard To Honor South Dakotans For Work In The Arts
Email share
South Dakota Governor Dennis Daugaard
Kent Osborne-SDPB

Gov. Dennis Daugaard will present the 22nd Governor's Awards in the Arts Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015, at the Best Western Ramkota in Pierre. 

Recipients of this year's awards are: Jon Crane, Hill City, for Distinction in Creative Achievement; Jeannette Beemer, Pierre, for Outstanding Support of the Arts by an Individual;Milo Winter, Rapid City, for Outstanding Service to Arts Education; and Dacotah Prairie Museum, Aberdeen, for Outstanding Support of the Arts by an Organization. The 2015 South Dakota Living Indian Treasure Award will be presented to Lydia Whirlwind Soldier, Sicangu Lakota, Rosebud.

The biennial awards presentation banquet honors the achievements of South Dakota's fine artists and arts leaders. Award winners are selected from nominations submitted in the four categories reflecting the work of professional artists and arts educators and the support of individuals, businesses and organizations that encompass South Dakota's arts community. The Living Indian Treasure Award is presented to a South Dakota Native American elder, in recognition of preservation of excellence in traditional Indian art forms or breaking new ground through innovations based in traditional forms. 

Festivities will begin with a reception at 5 p.m., followed by a banquet honoring the award winners. Gov. Daugaard will deliver the State of the Arts Address and present the 2015 Governor's Awards in the Arts. Music will be provided by the Jim Szana Trio and an exhibit curated by the South Dakota Art Museum will be on display in the lobby.

The biennial awards are sponsored by South Dakotans for the Arts and the South Dakota Arts Council. Tickets for the banquet are $35 per person. Order tickets at South Dakotans for the Arts, PO Box 414, Lead, SD 55754, (605) 722-1467.

Visit for more information, including biographical highlights for the recipients of the 2015 Governor's Awards in the Arts. 

The mission of the Arts Council, an office of the South Dakota Department of Tourism, is to provide grants and services to artists, arts institutions, schools and other nonprofit organizations throughout the state with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts and the State of South Dakota.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.