The 2015-16 SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Recipients
Email share

Follow @Nate_WekSDPB

Nine distinguished individuals from across the state of South Dakota have been selected to receive the South Dakota High School Activities Association (SDHSAA) Distinguished Service Award for the 2015-16 school year. Following a nomination process, the recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are selected by the SDHSAA Board of Directors.

The SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award program was established by the SDHSAA in 1976. It's the highest recognition bestowed by the SDHSAA and it's designed to honor individuals who have made significant long term contributions to the high school athletic and fine arts activities in our state.

Distinguished Service Award recipients are individuals whose contributions have had an impact on high school activity programs. The award is presented to honor administrators (principals, superintendents and athletic/activity directors); Board of Education members; athletic and fine arts activities coaches & directors; contest officials for fine arts and athletic activities; and contributors to statewide high school activities. Recipients of this award have given outstanding service to the youth of the state through the high school athletic and fine arts activities programs.

The following individuals are the 2015-16 SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award recipients:

Board of Education:

Todd Trask - Huron

Category: Administrators

Rick Weber – Flandreau

Dan Whalen – Pierre

Karen Hahn – Spearfish

Charlie Sizer - Miller

Category: Coaches & Directors

Jackie Stacey – Watertown

Phil Hunt – Rapid City

Category: Contest Officials

Grant Manhart – Aberdeen

Gene Gillen - Hermosa

The Distinguished Service Awards will be presented throughout the 2015-16 school year at various SDHSAA state athletic and fine arts events.