Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Seventh Judicial Circuit to swear in 2 new judges

The Seventh Judicial Circuit will swear in two new circuit court judges in Rapid City. 

The circuit swears in Scott Roetzel on July 9 and Eric Kelderman on July 12.

Both ceremonies take place at 4 p.m. MT in the Pennington County Courthouse rotunda and are open to the public.

Roetzel previously served as supervisor of the state Attorney General’s Rapid City office. Prior to that, he worked as an assistant U.S. Attorney, chief deputy and later senior litigation counsel for the Pennington County State’s Attorney’s Office, and with the law firm of Johnson Eiesland. Roetzel received his undergraduate degree and law degree from the University of South Dakota School of Law.

Kelderman previously served as an assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of South Dakota and as a judicial law clerk to three federal judges in South Dakota and Nebraska. Kelderman completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Sioux Falls, his master’s degree at the University of South Dakota, and his law degree from Creighton University.

The Seventh Judicial Circuit includes Custer, Fall River, Oglala Lakota and Pennington counties.

Krystal is the local host of "All Things Considered."