Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2024 SDHSAA State Girls Basketball, Saturday Recap

Josh Jurgens
South Dakota Public Broadcasting

The 2024 SDHSAA state girls basketball tournaments wrapped up on Saturday with O'Gorman, Vermillion, and Centerville winning state championships.


Class AA

No. 1 O’Gorman vs No. 3 Brandon Valley

O’Gorman completed the perfect season in ‘AA,’ winning the state championship with a 55-42 victory over Brandon Valley. The Knights finished the game with a 12-2 run. O’Gorman shot 43% from the field, while the Lynx shot 28%. Sydney Terveen and Mahli Abdouch combined for 33-points in the game for O’Gorman. Ava Kellenberger led Brandon Valley in scoring with 14-points.

Class A

No. 4 Vermillion 60 No. 6 Tea Area 54

Vermillion defeated Tea Area 60-54 in the ‘A’ championship game to win their second state title in program history. The Tanagers shot 45% from the field, which included 45% from beyond the arc. They were led by Chan Cleveland, who scored 20-points, two assists, and three rebounds. Taylor Reuvers scored 15-points for Vermillion as well. Mara Grant and Katie Vasecka each tallied 16-points in the game for Tea Area.

Class B

No. 3 Centerville 62 No. 1 Arlington 44

Centerville won their first ever girls state basketball championship on Saturday night in Rapid City with a 62-44 win over Arlington. The Tornadoes were led by Makalya Heesch (15), Emma Marshall (14), Althea Gust (13), Lillie Eide (12), who combined for 54 points in the game. Addalyn Steffensen contributed 15-points for Arlington, while Jo Steffensen scored 10.

3rd/4th Place Games

Class AA

No. 4 Sioux Falls Jefferson 44 No. 7 Harrisburg 40

Sioux Falls Jefferson finishes the year in third for ‘AA’ after beating Harrisburg 44-40 on Saturday night. Brin Altenburg led the Cavaliers in scoring with 23-points. Jaidyn Dunn led Sioux Falls Jefferson with eight rebounds. Harrisburg was led in scoring by Abiga Flanagan, who had 15-points. Jaylee Hofer also contributed 13-points for the Tigers.

Class A

No. 1 Sisseton 68 No. 3 Sioux Falls Christian 52

Sisseton bounced back after a devasting semifinal loss to Vermillion by taking down Sioux Falls Christian 68-52 for third place in ‘A.’ The Redmen shot 54% from the floor, which included 50% from beyond the arc. Krist Langager dropped 27-points and Hanna Leverson scored 19-points for Sisseton. Sioux Falls Christian was led by Jaxsyn Swift, who put up 14-points for the Chargers in the loss.

Class B

No. 3 Ethan 67 No. 7 Lyman 42

Ethan looked strong in Saturday’s ‘A’ third place game, defeating Lyman 67-42 and shooting 54% from the floor in the process. Marrisa Storm finished with 22-points, and Ava Lingemann scored 16. Lingemann ends the season with 108 three-pointers. Mak Scott was the leading scorer for Lyman. She dropped 15 in the game.

Consolation Championship

Class AA

No. 5 Pierre TF Riggs 48 No. 2 Mitchell 47

Pierre TF Riggs defeated Mitchell 48-47 for the ‘AA’ consolation championship on Saturday in Sioux Falls. Both teams shot the ball fairly well in the contest. The Governors shot 52% from the floor, while the Kernels shot 43%. The leading scorers for Pierre were Ryann Barry with 16 points and Lennix Dupris with 14 points. Barry also grabbed seven defensive rebounds for the Governors. Mitchell was led by Addie Siemsen, who tallied 16-points in the contest.

Class A

No. 3 Flandreau 56 No. 5 Mahpíya Lúta 41

Flandreau finished their season strong with a 56-41 win over Mahpíya Lúta in the consolation championship for Class A. As a team, the Flyers shot 47% from the floor in Saturday’s game. Lizzie Palvis scored 21-points and had 10 rebounds for Flandreau, while Lily Klein scored 17-points and grabbed 15 boards for the Flyers as well. Ashlan Blount, Jodene Hunter, and Tale Lunderman all recorded 10-points for Mahpíya Lúta.

Class B

No. 5 Wall 60 No. 2 Harding County 51

Wall won the consolation championship in the ‘B’ tournament after a 60-51 win over Harding County. Paige Kjerstad led the Eagles with 20-points offensively and a team leading six steals on defense as well. Macey Wendt led Harding County with 10-points. Wall shot 33% from the field, while the Ranchers shot 34%. One key difference was free throws, as Wall went 23 of 30 from the charity stripe.

7th/8th Place Games

Class AA

No. 6 Spearfish 59 No. 8 Rapid City Stevens 50

Spearfish defeated Rapid City Stevens in the 7th place game 59-50. Maria Bouman led the Spartans in scoring with 14-points. She also recorded six steals on defense. Jozie Dana led Spearfish in assists with six. Taaliya Porter recorded 16-points to lead Rapid City Stevens in scoring. Jessa Griswold also scored 13-points for the Raiders.

Class A

No. 8 Mt. Vernon/Plankinton 60 #7 Hanson 40

Mt. Vernon/Plankinton finishes the ‘A’ tournament in 7th place after a 60-49 victory over Hanson on Saturday afternoon. The Titans shot 44% from the field, and were led by Reagan Rus, who finished with 28-points. Emilee Fox also contributed 22-points for Mt. Vernon/Plankinton. Eliza Oltmanns scored 14-points for Hanson.

Class B

No. 8 James Valley Christian 56 No. 6 Warner 50

James Valley Christian finished the season strong with a 56-50 win over a solid Warner team. The Vikings shot 44% from the field. Alexa Goertz finished with 25-points for James Valley Christian, leading all scorers. Warner was led by Kyra and Laure Marcuson, who combined for 25-points as a pair.

Nate Wek is currently the sports content producer and sports and rec beat reporter for South Dakota Public Broadcasting. He is a graduate of South Dakota State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism Broadcasting and a minor in Leadership. From 2010-2013 Nate was the Director of Gameday Media for the Sioux Falls Storm (Indoor Football League) football team. He also spent 2012 and 2013 as the News and Sports Director of KSDJ Radio in Brookings, SD. Nate, his wife Sarah, and two kids Braxan and Jordy, live in Canton, SD.