Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2024 SDHSAA State Boys Basketball, Saturday Recap

Josh Jurgens
South Dakota Public Broadcasting

The 2024 SDHSAA state boys basketball tournaments came to an end on Saturday with three incredible championship games. Two went to overtime, while the other was decided by just one-point.

Mitchell won their first state championship since 2005, Hamlin claimed its first since 1983, and Howard celebrated a championship for the first time since 1964.

Class AA

Championship: No. 1 Mitchell 46 No. 3 Brandon Valley 45

Mitchell defeated Brandon Valley in thrilling fashion 46-45 to win the ‘AA’ state title. A Josh Olthoff shot at the horn fell short, clinching the championship for Mitchell. The Kernels were led by Gavin Soukup, who scored 16-points. Marcus Talley also had nine points for Mitchell. Josh Olthoff and Brayden Anderson each had 13-points for Brandon Valley.

3rd Place: No. 2 Harrisburg 50 No. 5 Sioux Falls Washington 48

Harrisburg took down Washington 50-48 in thrilling fashion due to a last second shot by Camden Phipps. Phipps finished with 17-points for the Tigers. Braeden VanBockern had 12-points and a couple steals defensively for Harrisburg as well. Lubab Kambalo, Jhace Woods, and Thomas Hoffman all had 10-points for Washington in the loss.

5th Place: No. 8 Sioux Falls Jefferson 60 No. 7 Watertown 58

Jefferson won the ‘AA’ consolation championship with a 60-58 victory over Watertown. The Cavaliers shot 45% in the game from field, and they won the rebound battle by +14. Jefferson was led by Dawson Sechser, who scored 14-points, and Mason Payne, who put 13-points in the scoring column. Dylan Rawdon was the top scorer for Watertown with 27-points.

7th Place: No. 6 Huron 63 Sioux Falls No. 4 Roosevelt 58

Huron defeated Roosevelt 63-58 in the ‘AA’ seventh place game on Saturday. Free throws were the difference in this contest as 21-points for the Tigers came at the charity stripe. Blake Ellwein led Huron with 26-points and seven rebounds. He also had two blocks and two steals defensively. The Rough Riders were led by Kamari Thomas, who finished with 12-points.

Class A

Championship: No. 2 Hamlin 53 No. 1 Sioux Falls Christian 50 (OT)

For the first time since 1983, Hamlin has won a boys state basketball championship. They defeated Sioux Falls Christian 53-50 on Saturday to clinch the title. Hamlin shot 45% from the field. Tyson Stevenson finished with 16-points for Hamlin, while Easton Neuendorf dropped 12-points. Griffen Goodbary led Sioux Falls Christian with 19-points and ten rebounds.

3rd Place: No. 5 Dakota Valley 78 No. 6 Rapid City Christian 73

Dakota Valley took down Rapid City Christian 78-73 in the ‘A’ third place game. The Panthers shot 51% in the game, but it was kept close with the Comets winning the turnover and rebounding battle. Dakota Valley was led by Luke Bruns, who finished with 19-points and ten rebounds. Jaxson Wingert also scored 17-points for the Panthers. Rapid City Christian was led by Benson Kieffer, who scored 29-points, and Simon Kieffer who contributed 24-points.

5th Place: No. 3 Sioux Valley 69 No. 4 Pine Ridge 51

Sioux Valley defeated Pine Ridge 69-51 in the consolation championship. The Cossacks shot an impressive 60% from the field, which was in big part due to the performance by Alec Squires, who went 9 of 10 for 21-points and grabbed 17-rebounds. Marvin Richard III led the scoring for Pine Ridge with 19-points.

7th Place: No. 7 Groton Area 67 No. 8 Vermillion 49

Groton Area rolled past Vermillion on Saturday afternoon 67-49 in the ‘A’ seventh place game. Lane Tietz finished with 25-points and six rebounds to lead the way for the Tigers. Jacob Zak also contributed 15-points and grabbed nine rebounds for Groton Area. Vermillion was led by Connor Roerig and Zoan Robinson, who both scored 13-points in the game.

Class B

Championship: No. 5 Howard 60 No. 2 De Smet 55 (OT)

In what was a crazy end to regulation with both teams scoring a pair of buckets in the closing seconds, Howard defeated De Smet 60-55 to win their first boys basketball championship since 1964. The Tigers shot 56% from the field. Kolt and Luke Koepsell led the way for the Tigers, combining for 40-points in the contest. Kolt also led the team in rebounds with 13 in the title game. Kadyn Fast scored 18-points for De Smet.

3rd Place: No. 3 Castlewood 74 No. 1 White River 54

Castlewood defeated White River 74-54 on Saturday night in the 3rd place game. The Warriors shot 53% from the floor, and outrebounded the Tigers 43-21. Bryan Laue (20), Jamison Keszler (18), and Lane Tvedt (17) combined for 55-points for Castlewood. Nicolas Marshall was the leading scorer for White River with 31-points in the game.

5th Place: No. 4 Wessington Springs 55 No. 6 Gregory 51

Wessington Springs won the consolation championship in ‘B’ on Saturday with a 55-51 performance against Gregory. The Spartans shot 53% from the field. Wessington Springs was led by Parker Graff, who scored 17-points, and Colby Flowers, who added 14-points towards the total. Noah Bearshield and Daniel Mitchell both scored 15-points for Gregory.

7th Place: No. 8 Viborg-Hurley 84 No. 6 Leola/Frederick Area 75

Viborg-Hurley defeated Leola/Frederick Area 84-75 on Saturday. The Cougars shot an impressive 67% from the floor. Viborg-Hurley also went +9 in the rebound category. Brady Schroedermeier led the Cougars with 25-points. Nick Hanson also scored 19-points and grabbed eleven rebounds for Viborg-Hurley. Leola/Frederick Area’s Brayd Sumption put up 19-points in the contest.

Nate Wek is currently the sports content producer and sports and rec beat reporter for South Dakota Public Broadcasting. He is a graduate of South Dakota State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism Broadcasting and a minor in Leadership. From 2010-2013 Nate was the Director of Gameday Media for the Sioux Falls Storm (Indoor Football League) football team. He also spent 2012 and 2013 as the News and Sports Director of KSDJ Radio in Brookings, SD. Nate, his wife Sarah, and two kids Braxan and Jordy, live in Canton, SD.