Skip to main content
66th Annual All-State Band To Feature South Dakota's Top High School Band Musicians
Email share
All-State Band

Follow @SDPBSports

The sixty-sixth annual South Dakota All-State Band Concert will be held at DD Miller Auditorium in Watertown, SD on Saturday, April 2nd. Each year, the All-State Band brings together South Dakota's most talented high school instrumental musicians and provides an opportunity for students to practice and perform under the direction of conductors who may be recognized around the world. The students participating in the 2016 All-State Band were selected through statewide competitive auditions that were held at six sites during the month of January. The 2016 All-State Band is made up of 203 students from 45 high schools.

The members of the All-State Band have been divided into two equal bands, with each band being directed by its own guest conductor. The smaller bands have been named after two of the most prominent names from South Dakota history, Lewis and Clark. The Lewis Band will be directed by Dr. Linda Moorhouse from the University of Illinois, and the Clark Band will be directed by Dr. John Locke from the University of North Carolina.

The Lewis Band will perform on Saturday, April 2nd beginning at 4:00 p.m., followed by the Clark Band. Ten minutes prior to the concert, the South Dakota Bandmasters Association, the South Dakota High School Activities Association, and the Phi Beta Mu honorary music group will present special awards. Receiving the SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award for the furtherance of high school activities in South Dakota is Jacklynn Stacey of Watertown, and Dr. Grant Manhart of Northern State University. The South Dakota Bandmasters will be inducting Robert Carlson into their Hall of Fame.

The doors to the concert will open at 2:30 p.m. All tickets for the All-State Concert are general admission. The ticket price will be $15 for adults and $10 for high school and elementary students.