About Friends

The Friends of South Dakota Public Broadcasting supports the mission of SDPB through effective advocacy and fundraising from our members, donors and corporate partners. As a general rule, the Friends of SDPB pays for the majority of the programming expenses for both SDPB TV and Radio.

Friends is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that exists solely to support the mission of SDPB. We are governed by a volunteer board of twenty-one citizens from across the state.

Friends Board of Directors:


Tim Dougherty, Sioux Falls, President
Dan LIkevold, Lead, Vice President
Marcia Hendrickson, Chancellor, SD, Treasurer
Nancy McCahren, Vermillion, SD, Secretary


Greg Blomberg, Sioux Falls, SD
Wayne Carney, Ft. Pierre, SD
Henry Christianson, Rapid City, SD
Laura Hofer, Vermillion, SD
Carol Johnson, Watertown, SD
Jerri Johnson, Sioux Falls, SD
Janice Homandberg Knutsen, Rapid City, SD
Liz Manning, Spearfish, SD
Paul McDonald, Aberdeen, SD
Tom Manzer, Brookings, SD 
Casey Murschel, Sioux Falls, SD 
Tom Pagel, Milbank, SD
John Sternquist, Yankton, SD 
Yvonne Taylor, Presho, SD
Janelle Toman, Pierre, SD
Mark Shlanta, Sioux Falls, SD, ET Board Chair (ex-officio)
Julie Andersen, Tea, SD, SDPB Executive Director (ex-officio)

Please contact Peggy Bush at (605) 688-4191 or Peggy.Bush@sdpb.org if you wish to speak to a volunteer board member.

Staff Contacts:

Peggy Bush
Development Associate

(605) 688-4191
Peggy.Bush@sdpb.org

Jerry Cooley
Gifts Manager
(605) 688-4191
Jerry.Cooley@sdpb.org

Ned Gavlick 
Director of Corporate Development East River
(605) 688-4191
Ned.Gavlick@sdpb.org

Janet Gerjets
Membership Coordinator

(605) 688-4191
Janet.Gerjets@sdpb.org

Gayle Grothe 
Director of Membership
(605) 688-4191
Gayle.Grothe@sdpb.org

Ryan Howlett
Chief Executive Officer
(605) 367-7266
Ryan.Howlett@sdpb.org

Terrie Koehne
Director of Corporate Development West River
(605) 394-6994
Terrie.Koehne@sdpb.org

image of the sdpb magazine cover

SDPB Magazine is a benefit of membership in Friends of SDPB. Your donation helps pay for programs you see and hear. Become a member today. http://www.sdpb.org/donate/