About Friends

The Friends of South Dakota Public Broadcasting supports the mission of SDPB through effective advocacy and fundraising from our members, donors and corporate partners. As a general rule, the Friends of SDPB pays for the majority of the programming expenses for both SDPB TV and Radio. 

Friends is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that exists solely to support the mission of SDPB. We are governed by a volunteer board of twenty-one citizens from across the state.

Friends Board of Directors:

Janelle Krause Toman, President, Pierre
Tim Schorn, Vice President, Vermillion
Tom Manzer, Treasurer, Brookings
Greg Blomberg, Secretary, Sioux Falls

Gene Ellenson, Huron
John Charles Sternquist, Yankton
Julie Overgaard, Sioux Falls
Karen Mortimer, Rapid City
Katrin Profilet, Sioux Falls
Katrina Lehr-McKinney, Sioux Falls
Liz Manning, Spearfish
Lon Stroschein, Sioux Falls
Mark Shalanta, Sioux Falls
Michael Goodroad, Rapid City
Rebecca Jirava, Brookings
Ron Roehr, Milbank
Sue Gates, Aberdeen
Tamara Pier, Rapid City
Thomas E. Graslie, Rapid City
Prof. Tim Schorn, Vermillion
Wayne Carney, Ft. Pierre

Please contact Peggy Bush at (605) 688-4191 or Peggy.Bush@sdpb.org if you wish to speak to a volunteer board member.

Staff Contacts:

Peggy Bush
Development Associate
(605) 688-4191
Peggy.Bush@sdpb.org

Janet Gerjets
Membership Coordinator
(605) 688-4191
Janet.Gerjets@sdpb.org

Gayle Grothe 
Vice President of Membership
(605) 688-4191
Gayle.Grothe@sdpb.org

Ryan Howlett
Chief Executive Officer
(605) 367-7266
Ryan.Howlett@sdpb.org

Liz Larkin
Director of Corporate Development East River
(605) 367-7272
Liz.Larkin@sdpb.org 

Carol Johnson
Major Giving and Donor Engagement
(605) 880-5094
carol.johnson@sdpb.org

Michele Slott
Director of Corporate Development West River 
(605) 394-6994
Michele.Slott@sdpb.org 

 

sdpb magazine cover

SDPB Magazine is a benefit of membership in Friends of SDPB. Your donation helps pay for programs you see and hear. Become a member today. http://www.sdpb.org/donate/