Skip to main content
SDPB Friends Give Now - About

About the Friends of South Dakota Public Broadcasting

The Friends of South Dakota Public Broadcasting supports the mission of SDPB through effective advocacy and fundraising from our members, donors and corporate partners. As a general rule, the Friends of SDPB pays for the majority of the programming expenses for both SDPB TV and Radio.

Friends is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that exists solely to support the mission of SDPB. We are governed by a volunteer board of twenty-one citizens from across the state.

Friends Board of Directors

President, Karen Mortimer, Rapid City
Vice-President, Katrin Profilet, Sioux Falls
Secretary, Janet F Hovey-Johnson, Sioux Falls
Treasurer, Gene Ellenson, Huron
Chair of ETB Board, Kay Jorgensen, Spearfish
Executive Director, SDPB, Julie Overgaard, Vermillion

Tashina Banks-Rama, Pine Ridge
Vernon Brown, Sioux Falls
Roberta (Bobbie) Clark, Mitchell
Kara Flynn, Rapid City
Michael Goodroad, Lead
Susan Halter-Jones, Watertown
Tom Hurlbert, Sioux Falls
Carole Johnson, Brookings
Katrina Lehr-McKinney, Sioux Falls
Paula Long Fox, Rapid City
Mike Mueller, Pierre
Tamara Pier, Rapid City
Ron Roehr, Milbank
Tim Schorn, Vermillion
Josh VanLaecken, Aberdeen


Friends Staff

Ryan Howlett
Chief Executive Officer
and Major Giving
(605) 367-7266
ryan.howlett at

Major Giving

Meg Hentges
Sound Vision Campaign Coordinator
(605) 367-7022
meg.hentges at

Carol Johnson
Major Giving and Donor Engagement
(605) 880-5094
carol.johnson at

Theresa Schake
Major and Planned Gifts
(605) 677-5861
theresa.schake at


Eric Erickson
VP of Corporate Partnerships
(605) 367-7273
eric.erickson at

Jennifer Adler
Director of Corporate Partnerships - Black Hills
(605) 440-1999
jennifer.adler at


Twyla Olson
Vice-President of Membership
(605) 367-7001
twyla.olson at

Wendy Bergan
On-air & New Member Fundraising Manager
(605) 367-4559
wendy.bergan at

Adam Davenport
Chief Information Officer
(605) 681-8801
adam.davenport at

Janet Gerjets
Membership Coordinator
(605) 677-5861
janet.gerjets at

Carmen Kock
Membership Specialist
carmen.kock at

Nathan Hofer
Outreach & Experiences Manager
(605) 351-9778
nathan.hofer at